Week by Week

Dear Little baby,

we have now hit the 11 week mark on this maternity journey.  This whole counting weeks thing can be confusing.  Some of this you probably don’t want to hear about, but hey that is just the way things go 🙂

Week 1 is when the first day of my menstrual cycle began.  So I was not actually pregnant with you during this week.  This date was Dec 16th or the 17th.

Week 2-3 is when conception actually happened.  I believe this was around Christmas, of course it could have happened the first part of January as well.  But regardless it isn’t until the 2nd or 3rd week of a 40 week process that you were actually starting to form.

I am not going to give you a play-by-play of everything that happens, there are plenty of resource for that.  Just Google it.   But the fact is that during these weeks you are turning from a little bundle of cells in to a little baby.

I have to tell you that while we did want to have you, we weren’t quite ready for you.  After giving birth to your big brother I was using a birth control called an IUD, no I am not going to explain it.  It continuously gave me hormones to help prevent a pregnancy.  After about a year it started to make me crazy.  Yes actually crazy!   I was having horrible mood swings and depression.   Not to mention some other unpleasantness, like the fact that it started changing my menstrual cycle to happening every other week instead of once a month!  Talk about not fun.

With all that I decided to have it removed and changed back to taking a birth control pill.  Because of the fact that I changed methods and the IUD had altered my cycle so crazily I still ended up pregnant with you despite being on birth control pills.  Something of which we are extremely happy about, but yes, we are a little scared too.

So now we are just starting week 11.  You are about 1.6″ in length or the size of a lime, and weigh approximately 0.25oz.  You organs have formed and are beginning to function.  You are growing your little finger & toe nails.  Your ears are moving to the sides of your head.  You are moving around in there, kicking and stretching, but I can’t feel you yet.

from http://www.babycenter.com/fetal-development-images-11-weeks

I will admit it is hard to believe you are in there, although my belly is sure getting bigger!

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

